Review: ‘Shatter Me’ by Tahereh Mafi

Where to start.

This book was good, bad, ugly.

Ugh. I hate writing bad reviews of anything, especially books. I know a lot of hard work goes into them. But sometimes, there’s just no getting around it. And this is one of those times.

‘Shatter Me’ was disappointing, mainly because it had the potential to be a really great read, a great story. Instead, the author took a wonderful and interesting idea and twisted it into something I could hardly stand to read at all. I literally only forced myself to finish this book because I hate leaving books unread once I’ve started.

And I sigh again.

Let’s get down to the nitty-gritty, shall we?

Things in this book that simply annoyed the hell out of me:

  • The constant marking out of words.
    • It’s one thing to do it every now and again. Hell, I thought the initial idea was pretty cool. But every few sentences? No, I can’t deal with that. Blame it on my OCD, if you can. Or maybe the fact that I’m just a writer and…There’s no excuse. I hated it. After so many pages of it, I was just skipping those lines, not even trying to read them anymore. Were they important? I guess we’ll never know.
  • Repeating of words.
    • I’m not even going to find an example of this this this. It’s far far far too annoying to even try try. But I think you get the point point point.
  • Odd metaphors that make no sense.
    • There comes a point where you’re trying too hard. And this: “Warner thinks Adam is a cardboard cutout of vanilla regurgitations” is trying too hard.
  • The lack of character development.
  • Basically, it’s literally love at first sight. And I hate that.
    • I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m the type of person who likes a slow burn. Maybe they hate each other, but slowly realize they need each other or something. Or perhaps they don’t hate each other at all. But don’t make them fall in love in two damn seconds!
    • So, Juliette and Adam knew each other when they were smaller, but never really spoke. Fine. Years later, Adam and Juliette are locked up together and then run away together. Mind you, this is only a few days of them actually knowing each other and they’re already madly, deeply, irrevocably in love. Gag.

I’m sure there are more things about this book that I couldn’t deal with, but I can’t think of them at the moment. Mainly because I hate thinking about this book. And no, I do not plan on reading the sequels.

And I don’t recommend you read any of them either, unless this all sounds appealing to you.

2 thoughts on “Review: ‘Shatter Me’ by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

