Review: ‘The Young Elites’ by Marie Lu

So, a few months back, I bought this book and started reading it. I literally got a few pages in, maybe twenty or so, and stopped. It was the part where Adelina realized she had powers and I was like, “No, this is too weird for me.”

Weeks later, I was in dire need of something to read as I hadn’t gotten the chance to buy any new books. So I went back to try it again, telling myself that I had read far weirder things and that I was an idiot. As I read, I got so sucked into the story that I was questioning my sanity for stopping reading it in the first place.

Marie Lu has done it again! As with her ‘Legend’ series, the story grabs hold of the reader and doesn’t let go (once you get past your prejudices – whoops!).

Not only is it just plain refreshing to read a book where the main character is a sort of villain, but the writing is impeccable, as always. The character development is great, showing us how an innocent girl grew into a power-hungry Elite, whose inner darkness is literally taking control. So as much as you want the main character to win, you also know that she needs to lose.

When I finish reading my current book, I’m planning to read ‘The Rose Society’ (the sequel). Hopefully, it will be like the ‘Legend’ series and only get better as the books progress.

Lame-o

Leave a Reply

