Review: ‘Shadows Over My Berlin’ by Heidi Scriba Vance

A few years ago, I was walking through our local grocery store with my mom and I don’t remember how the conversation initially started, but we ended up talking to this older lady. She was telling us all about her time in the concentration camps and her life as a Jew during World War II. It was very interesting. Especially to me, because I’m into history and such.

She went on to tell us that she had written a book. So I talked to my librarian and she ordered it and I read it. It was amazing. And heartbreaking. And inspiring.

For someone who lives in a small town (that technically is literally considered a village, because it’s too small to be a town) and has witnessed hate against other races and such (obviously what I’ve witnessed and/or experienced has nothing on the Holocaust), meeting such a strong woman was an honor.

Anyway, this review has turned into something other than what it was supposed to be. But that’s okay, because the book is a true and riveting story. And if you haven’t read it or maybe you haven’t even heard of it, then I’m telling you that you definitely should find it and read it sometime.

I’m sure in school, you probably had to read ‘Night’ by Elie Wiesel. I did, and this book is similar in the fact that it’s told from the point of view of someone who experienced and witnessed a lot of pain, but managed to survive and find the good in life, regardless.

I think everyone should read this book at least once.

Lame-o

Leave a Reply

