Review: The Perfect Guy

If I had to choose one word to describe this movie, it would be: disappointing. I was expecting so much more from this movie, which goes to show that previews really do over-exaggerate the quality a lot of the time.

I had a few problems with this movie.

1. It was far too melodramatic.

The main antagonist just went too far. Maybe it’s just me, but I think his stalker-ish ways were unconvincing and just a bit ridiculous. I’m not naive enough to think that there aren’t actually people out there like that, but sticking a person’s toothbrush in your mouth just to taste her again is a bit over the top for me. And that’s just one example.

2. There was no sense of time.

Throughout the entire movie, I was wondering how much time had passed, aside from when it said ‘2 months later’ at the beginning. Other than that, I think there was one time that said it had been a week since such-and-such had happened. It just really irritated me. It felt like they had been together two days and then all this over-dramatic crap started happening.

3. For the most part, it was just really boring.

In my opinion, it didn’t even get interesting until maybe the last twenty minutes or so when the girl started fighting back. Other than that, it was a snooze-fest.

4. It was predictable. [contains spoilers]

Most movies nowadays are far too predictable. Like I knew [spoiler] the neighbor was going to die. I knew he was going to [spoiler] kill the boyfriend. It was just aggravating.

5. The officer didn’t appear to have to follow the law.

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t appreciate the fact that the cop could just apparently do whatever he wanted, with no repercussions. I mean, turning the camera off in the interrogation room might not be illegal, I’m not sure. But I’m quite positive ignoring the fact that a citizen has just told you someone assaulted him might at least be against your cop code, or whatever. And I know you’re not allowed to assault a citizen yourself. It just annoyed me.


All in all, I thought the movie was boring and overrated. If I were to rate it, I’d give it two stars.

I do not recommend.

Leave a Reply

