Review: ‘The Rose Society’ by Marie Lu

Okay, so maybe I didn’t appreciate this book as much as I should have. Probably because I was in a hurry to finish so I could continue the Throne of Glass series.

But just now, as I was reading the last twenty pages, I realized that the way Marie Lu writes this character is amazing. We slowly get to watch her lose her sanity and her light and that’s something you don’t see very often, at least in my experience.

So, a short letter to Marie Lu:

Dear Marie,
I’m sorry that I tried rushing through your brilliant writing and didn’t take the time to appreciate it. I swear not to do that on the next installment.
Yours truly, Shawna.

Okay.

As with the first book, I loved the fact that the story is mainly told from Adelina’s perspective. She’s slowly turning into a villain, more-so in this book than the first one. I wish there had been more telling of the story from Raffaele’s point of view, but hey…what can ya do?

The book was great and I plan to appreciate the next one more than I did this one. Hopefully I won’t have another book impatiently awaiting to be devoured.

Lame-o

Leave a Reply

