Review: ‘Heir of Fire’ by Sarah J. Maas

Oh, boy. This isn’t going to be fun.

First off, I know I haven’t posted in a while, but I’ve been busy binge-watching Teen Wolf, so please forgive my lack of random postiness.

On to the review, then.

Unfortunately, I had to add this to my list of ‘did not finish’ on Goodreads (it’s the only one on that list at the moment, but probably not the last). Unlike ‘Throne of Glass’ which really kept me interested throughout the entire thing, as did its sequel, ‘Crown of Midnight’, the third installment is just far too boring. I am literally 237 pages in and I feel like ripping my eyes out. Okay, maybe it’s not that bad, but yeah.

There are a few things that I don’t like about this book.

  1. The agonizingly slow pace. It has been almost two months since I started this book and I’m not even halfway through it. Usually, it takes me a matter of days, but ‘Heir of Fire’ just can’t seem to keep my interest. There isn’t really much going on and right when I think it is about to get good and stay that way, it returns to its agonizingly slow pace.
  2. Manon – the witch. I am so uninterested in this character. With the other points of view, at least I can tell myself that I know them and hope that their plots will become something greater. With Manon and all her witchy friends (or enemies), I just don’t care. I don’t like anything about the character. I don’t care about her dragons or her witch politics. I just don’t care. And I wish I did. But, honestly, this character has nothing to offer me and I feel no connection to her. She’s useless.
  3. Sorscha. I feel like she was just kind of thrown in the mix to be with Dorian, you know, since Chaol is with Celaena. And yes, I know she was in the story before (helping them with their wounds and whatever) throughout the other books. All I’m saying is that I could have done without the whole Crown-Prince-falls-for-the-help-just-because-he-can’t-have-the-assassin type deal. I would have been happier if Dorian ended up alone.
  4. Celaena and her emotions. This bothered me in the other books, too. It just seems like Celaena has no control over her emotions whatsoever. One second, she’s as happy as can be, then literally a sentence later, she’s so pissed off at the world that she can barely control herself. One minute, she and Rowan seem to be getting along, seem to have found common ground. The next minute, they’re fighting like nobody’s business and Celaena has her panties in a pretzel over nothing.

Those were my main problems with this book. But I could have ignored problems 2-4 if problem 1 weren’t so…there. The slow pace at which this book moved is what really made me stop reading. Who knows, though? Maybe I’ll find the will to come back and finish it later on. Maybe not.

6 thoughts on “Review: ‘Heir of Fire’ by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

