Review: ‘The 5th Wave’ by Rick Yancey

This one is a bit complicated. While I enjoyed the book (and the fact that it was a great alien novel, which I hardly find), I also wasn’t as into it as I thought I would be. I’d heard great things about it, and decided that I should give it a read before the movie came out. Then I realized that I probably wouldn’t watch the movie after I’ve read the book, but oh well.

Anyway, a couple of things about this one bothered me.

One, was Yancey’s writing style. Don’t get me wrong, he’s an excellent writer, his writing style just isn’t for me. His sentence structure, the starting and stopping. It just annoyed me.

Another thing was Cassie and Evan’s relationship. I know they knew each other for a few weeks, but it was only a few weeks. And already, Evan’s so deeply in love with her. I hate that. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves when it comes to books. And then the fact that he turns out to be an Other and she gets pretty mad, but then she quickly gets over it and they’re all lovey-dovey again.

Other than that, the book was good. Like I said, it wasn’t as good as I was expecting, but I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Oh, and I never liked Evan’s character – which isn’t related to how I feel about the book, just throwing it out there.

Leave a Reply

