Review: The Hunger Games – Mockingjay: Part 2

Well, shit.

It’s over.

Do I feel complete now? Maybe.

Do I feel like I also want more? Definitely.

Am I going to get more? Probably not.

So I suppose I’ll just have to deal and wait for another great movie saga based a great book series. I mean, there’s always the Divergent series, but that’s ending as well. And it’s not as good as The Hunger Games in my opinion. Then there’s The Maze Runner, but I never got into those books. And the next movie isn’t out until 2017. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones sucked ass. Shadowhunters is awful.

I sigh.

Oh, well. I guess I should review this thing then.

Honestly? I thought this was the best movie in the franchise. The first three (two, technically) were great, but with this one, I just felt…Well, it’s hard to explain. Though it was the end of something I’m sure we all felt a part of, something we’d come to love (long before it was even a movie, the cool kids at least), it was also the beginning.

I remember when I first heard of this book. My cousins and aunt were living with us at the time (a lot of people in a little space, but ya know – family), and one of my cousins brought it home one day. The synopsis on the back seemed interesting enough, so I read a couple pages. Couldn’t get into it. Didn’t give a fair chance. So a year or so later, I picked it up again and was hooked. I read all the books like *snap* that. Well to be fair, if a book really captures my interest, I usually read it in a day or two.

I went to see the first movie in theaters and you know that feeling you get – like your heart has dropped into your stomach and you’re so emotional and you don’t know why? Like, it’s just a movie. It’s just a book. Why are you on the verge of tears? It hasn’t even started yet! That was me.

Oh, quick and funny side story: when I went to see Catching Fire in theaters, the movie theater literally caught on fire. We had to leave and it was just to the part where Katniss was going up into the arena and she’s all emotional about Cinna, ya know? There was smoke everywhere and everyone was talking – apparently the movie projector in our theater got too hot and…caught on fire – but I was just trying to watch the damn movie. Fire or no fire. I didn’t spend $10 + gas money + all that time getting hyped up just to have  to leave! But it’s apparently not safe to watch a movie in a room full of smoke, blahblahblah, lawsuits probably, blahblahblah. So they gave everyone a voucher for a free movie and I had to go back later. It was just very ironic.

Anyway, back to the review of the current movie…I’m so easily distracted.

So, we have the war, which is still in full-swing. We have Peeta over here who’s pretty brain-washed. We have Katniss who’s – of course – trying to save everyone and be a martyr (it’s what she does best). Everyone’s dying. Finnick – yes, I cried. Other people. Yadda, yadda.

And then Prim.

It was that moment of the movie that I’d been waiting for. I wanted to see how they played it out. I wanted to see how amazing Jennifer Lawrence is at portraying emotions. (Another side not: if you haven’t seen Winter’s Bone, it’s her best movie.) I didn’t want Prim to die, but I knew it was necessary to get things done. The bombs came. The medics came. Prim came. Katniss knew. I knew.

And then it happened. And I cried a little. But there wasn’t much focus on Prim’s death, not then. As the ending of the movie approached, I was beginning to think they weren’t going to give me that moment. The moment where Katniss finally gets to lose her shit and mourn her sister. I knew that if I didn’t get that moment, my opinion of the film would be far less. But I got the moment. And I sobbed. And it was fucking glorious. Jennifer Lawrence – as dorky, clumsy, and un-serious as she may be – is a superb actress.

But even through all that, there was another thing I was worried they’d leave out. I mean, the ending of the books is kinda cheesy, not gonna lie. But I was afraid they were going to leave out the part where Katniss and Peeta have their children. You know, the perfect little happy ending. I really thought they were going to end it where Katniss and Peeta are in bed –

“You love me. Real or not real?”

“Real.”

– but they didn’t disappoint. I got my happy, cheesy ending. And I have to say that, even though the movies can’t add every little detail, I am quite satisfied with this franchise. It’s not perfect. But it’s enough.

This finale was my favorite of the entire series. Action-packed, all the right feels at all the right moments, tears. Two thumbs up and broken-but-mended-heart.

Leave a Reply

