Review: ‘Red Queen’ by Victoria Aveyard

**Contains spoilers for Red Queen**
**Contains a spoiler for The Mortal Instruments**

This was my second time reading this book. Going in this time, I really only remembered the basics. You know, that Mare Barrow is different, Cal and Maven, betrayal, the Guard. But there was a bunch of jazz in there that I didn’t remember. So I did something I very rarely do and I read it again.

I loved it this time around just as much as I recall loving it the first time.

There were a few differences, though. Like the first time, I really wanted Mare to get with Cal, no exceptions. This time, though, I am very conflicted. Cal, Maven, even Kilorn. So hard to decide. Because as bad as Maven is, he’s still got that good in there somewhere. I imagine the death of him being something reminiscent of Sebastian in The Mortal Instruments. But who knows?

I’ve read that this book is similar to Red Rising with the whole Red/Silver thing, and after reading the synopsis for Red Rising, I found that that is sort of true. But not really. I haven’t read Red Rising yet and I’m not sure if I will, but I can tell you that just from the synopsis, I found that there are really only a couple of similarities. Reds, Golds (in Red Rising), Silvers (in Red Queen). Uprising, rebellion. And the name. But I don’t know. Maybe there are more. All I know is that I’ve only read one of these two books and I freaking loved it both times.

The first time I read this, I remember being so surprised by Maven’s betrayal. Like, I’m the type of person who suspects everything and everyone. I don’t know why I didn’t see it and I feel a little betrayed myself…by myself. Brain, what’s wrong with you? Then again, it was so easy to believe he was the good guy and that Cal was the conflicted good-but-also-not-as-good-as-you-want older brother. Yeah.

So I highly recommend this book, unless you’ve read Red Rising and think there are too many similarities, to which I say: just give it a shot anyway and try not to compare. Even though I know it’s hard. Just give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

