The Birthstone Book Tag

Got this idea from Emma’s Blog at Shelf Respect. Check her out!

January (GARNET): Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies. Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

I have a lot of favorite villains, but as of now I think I would have to say that Maven Calore from Red Queen. Even though he’s only seventeen, he is quite cruel (though that probably has something to do with his mother being in his ear as well). But I still adore Maven and his evil ways, not gonna lie.

February (AMETHYST): Purple is associated with royalty. Name a book with regal qualities. This can be royal characters or the King of all books!

For this one, I would have to choose The Selection Series, mainly because it’s all about royalty. A lot people don’t like this series (probably because of it’s lack of action and the plethora of ‘girl talk’ (dresses, boys, etc.), but I love this series.

March (AQUAMARINE): Washed out. Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or is a follower.

This is a manga, but I’m saying Kira from Mars. Even though she changes throughout the series, in the beginning she is very shy and timid, definitely not a leader.

APRIL (DIAMOND): A Diamond in the rough. Name a book that you loved but is not well known.

Falling for Hamlet is one of my favorite books, but I don’t know anyone who’s read it or even heard of it. Of course, The Royals (a TV series on E!) is loosely based on the novel, but that doesn’t count, because still not anyone I know has heard of it. Or the show. But it’s a great read, a twist on Shakespeare’s ‘Hamlet’. I recommend it.

May (EMERALD): Said to balance energy. Name two characters who balance each other well.

Hush, Hush is another favorite series of mine. Patch, the dark mysterious fallen angel. Nora, the quiet and nerdy girl with a past she knows nothing about. They’re perfect for each other, and the ending was perfect as well.

JUNE (PEARL): Associated with loyalty. Name a character who is loyal to the end.

Emma (whose blog I jacked this whole thing from) said Severus Snape and I’m inclined to agree. But since I haven’t finished reading the series yet (I’ve only watched the movies and read the first book), I am going to say Chaol from the Throne of Glass Series. Honestly, I loved the first two books in this series, but I couldn’t finish the third. It was just boring. But through the first two books, Chaol is loyal to both Celaena and Dorian.

July (RUBY): Blood red – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

Devil’s Knot. This is a true crime novel about the West Memphis Three and it pissed me off. The facts and all the evidence and then what happened to these three boys, it was just terrible. Of course, they’re all free now and living their lives, but they spent eighteen years in prison (on death row) for a crime they didn’t commit. They made a movie of this book, which stars Reese Witherspoon and Colin Firth, but I really recommend skipping the film and reading Devil’s Knot.

August(PERIDOT): Pale Green, pales in comparison to other gems. Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character.

I’m going to have to say Peeta from The Hunger Games Series on this one. As much as I love Katniss and a strong female character, I just adored Peeta. He was loyal, strong (even though he didn’t think he could be), brave. He is just one of my favorite characters in any book.

September (SAPPHIRE): Blue like the ocean which is calming. Name a book that had a calming affect on you.

Books don’t usually keep me calm, honestly. If they’re good, they keep me on the edge of my seat, hyped up, ready to know what is going to happen next, or pissed off. But then there is Yes, My Accent is Real (and Some Other Things I Haven’t Told You) by Kunal Nayyar (yes, he plays Raj on The Big Bang Theory). This book is funny, just like him. And it shows that if you work hard enough, you can pretty much do anything. I mean, this poor Indian boy grew up to be on a huge television show and he married a model, who just happens to be his soul mate. So, you know. Goals.

October (OPAL): Iridescent – Name an iridescent book. This can be a book with a beautiful cover or a quirky, ‘colourful’ character. 

Simon from The Mortal Instruments Series is brilliant. He’s nerdy, funny. And just like Peeta, he has a strong and brave side he didn’t know about. Plus a never-ending list of band names.

November (TOPAZ): Associated with resilience. Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

One of my favorite series is The Maximum Ride Series and the main character, Max, is as strong as they come. She has a family made up of other orphans who she’s come to love, a group of psychotic scientists trying to kill them all, and a thing for food. Through all the betrayal and the secrets, she does what is necessary to save those she loves and manages to save a few others along the way.

December (BLUE ZIRCON): Associated with friendship. Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

Will and Jem from The Infernal Devices Series are parabatia, which is basically just a way of saying that they’re best friends – like brothers – who will always do whatever is necessary to protect each other. They’re goals as well.


There you have it. Man, writing this thing made me realize that I have a lot of favorite books. But how can you choose??

Leave a Reply

