Review: The 5th Wave

Three words for this one: WHAT. THE. FUCK.

There were two things I said repeatedly throughout this movie.

1. WRONG. WRONG. WRONG.

2. This movie sucks.

I read the book a couple months ago, because the movie was coming out. I’ll admit that I wasn’t as into the book as I thought I would be, and by the final like, 100 pages, I was just ready for it to end. But (as usual) the movie was worse. Far, far worse.

Let’s start with the cast. I’m not a big fan of Chloe Grace Moretz as it is. At first I thought it was just because she was young (this was when I saw If I Stay and she wrecked that role), but I’ve come to realize that I just don’t think she’s a good actress. It’s just not her forte. Everyone else in the cast, aside from maybe the guy playing Ben, was just as terrible.

Secondly, the movie just moved around too much. I mean, we’re with Cassie for five seconds and then we’re with Ben for five seconds and back and forth and around and around. It was very annoying and made it hard to keep up with what was even going on.

Third, everything happened way too fast. I think they were trying to fit as much from the book as they could into the film, which only resulted in worse quality. I thought that Cassie and Ethan fell in “love” really quickly in the books (it was over two weeks or something), but in the movie, it seems like it happened in two or three days.

Pretty surprised my eyes didn’t end up rolling out of my head, honestly, because most of the movie, I was rolling them in annoyance.

Even if I hadn’t read the book beforehand, I’m quite certain I still would not have liked this movie. Everything felt rushed and just thrown together. I don’t know if I’ll watch the second film, but if I do, I hope it’s better than the first.

Leave a Reply

