Review: ‘The Scorpion Rules’ by Erin Bow

Let me be honest and say that I bought this book for like, three dollars at the local Dollar General store, and because of that fact, it took me forever to actually decide to read it. Most books I find at my local Dollar store are crap, so I thought this one might be the same. Also, I’ve been busy reading other, more well-known authors.

But I ran out of things to read (and money to buy more things to read), so I finally decided to pick up The Scorpion Rules.

Not to say that it wasn’t a great read, but it definitely wasn’t one of the best I’ve read. The world-building is pretty good and the whole AI business is a bit different (at least for me).

Really, there are two things that made this book for me, and the first one isn’t even really worth talking about.

Talis: Yeah, Talis was seriously the best part of this book. Or at least the best character, in my opinion. His snark was my favorite thing. I adored him.

Xie’s & Greta’s relationship: The fact that gay couples in books still surprises me also annoys me. Like, this shouldn’t be surprising, but let’s be honest: it doesn’t happen as often as it should. Yeesh. Even me, I was expecting a romance between Greta and Elian, and I guess there sort of was, on his part at least. But I was happily surprised when Greta and Xie fell in love.

Another thing I liked was witnessing Greta’s obvious change when she became an AI. She went from human emotions/thoughts to literally being a robot without really the ability to feel emotion, and she now knows things she couldn’t have imagined as a human. I just found it really satisfying.

Overall, the book was a good read. Would I read it again? Possibly. Then again, I rarely read books more than once, so who knows?

Leave a Reply

