Review: ‘The Jewel’ by Amy Ewing

First of all, I did not finish this book. For the record, I tried really really hard. I had about 104 pages left, but I just couldn’t bring myself to suffer through the rest. I had myself convinced that I was just going to sit down and finish it, just get it over with and be done with it, but I talked myself out of it. Okay, actually several people talked me out of it.

What I did not like about the book:

1. The overall story

The whole thing about the rich buying the poor to use as surrogates just weirds me out a bit. Maybe it shouldn’t (or maybe it should, I don’t know), but it does. Let me just buy this young woman, give her nice things, keep her on a leash, beat her, force her to have my child, then…keep her locked away for the rest of her life. Sounds like fun.

2. The…romance?

Snorts. Okay…Romance. If that’s what you wanna call it. Literally, Violet accidentally walks into Ash’s room and they fall in love. But I pushed past that and continued reading, even though Violet was constantly thinking about Ash and how his hands would feel touching her (nothing dirty, okay). I mean, I can kind of understand thinking about a cute guy a lot, especially if you’ve never really been in a relationship or anything like that, or you’re just never around cute guys.

But when they freaking kissed, that was it for me. Because no way. I just don’t like it. That was way too fast.

Hey, I just met you
And this is crazy
But kiss my face
Because I love you already

I don’t know what I’m doing.

3. The lack of anything actually happening

Why is nothing happening? These people are treating her all kinda ways and the doc is making her more powerful. Oh, and she grew a violet. And kissed a stranger. Cool. So where’s the story?

Leave a Reply

