Review: ‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes

So, I probably accidentally watched the movie first. I had been planning to read the book before I watched the movie, but I just couldn’t help myself. What can I say? I have no self-control.

I absolutely loved this book. Jojo Moyes captures these characters splendidly and makes you really think about things – life, love, and the effect that people have on us, whether we realize it or not.

While there is a lingering sense of sadness and dread throughout the entire book, there is also this strong feeling of hope. Clarke’s character – her sarcastic wit and her ditzy, but well-meaning attitude – really lightened the mood and played well against Will’s more dark and broody character. The entire time you’re reading, the thought of what Will has decided to do is in the back of your mind, but the characters do well to pretty much distract you from that most of the time, while once in a while hinting at the horrible end you fear.

If you have watched the movie, but haven’t read the book, I highly recommend it. The book has so many things that were left out of the movie and really just lets you get to know the characters so much more. The film and the novel are almost nothing alike, really.

This book made me feel so many conflicting emotions, and at the end of it, I wasn’t sure what to feel anymore. All I know is that I cannot wait to read the sequel.

Leave a Reply

