Review: ‘The Midnight Star’ by Marie Lu

First off, I’d like to thank Penguin for the advanced copy! Now, onto the review…

You cannot harden your heart to the future just because of your past.

When I first started this series, I wasn’t all that invested, if we’re being totally honest. I found Adelina’s story weird and a bit cliche. So I stopped reading. Eventually, I went back to it – mainly because I had nothing else to read at the time – and I couldn’t put it down. Now that I’ve finished the series, I feel a sense of completeness, a sort of accomplishment. Though I’m kind of sad that I won’t get to read more about Raffaele and Magiano.

The romance between Magiano and Adelina blooms into something enviable. Honestly, I think we were supposed to feel this type of connection with Adelina and Enzo, but it just didn’t work. Throughout The Midnight Star, we’re told of her love for Enzo, but I never felt that between the two of them – it always felt forced (and this is probably something that should be discussed in a review of The Young Elites). But with Magiano, it’s something else and the ending is perfect.


Long-ish spoiler below…

Anywho, I’d have to say this one was my favorite (keeping in mind my terrible memory of the other two). Perhaps I’m a cynic, but I just always want the main character to die. I don’t know. Don’t blame me. It’s not my fault. So the entire time, especially as I got closer to the end, I was hoping that Adelina and probably even Violetta would die. Oops.

I got my wish. But the entire time that Adelina was dead, I was afraid that the author was going to bring her back and ruin things. I mean, the hero can’t always make it out alive, right? I was not disappointed. Adelina doesn’t come back to life, exactly, but she is still a part of the story and that last little “folk tale” at the end really just brings the whole ending together.

Kudos to Marie Lu for giving me the romance with Adelina and Magiano that I didn’t get with Adelina and Enzo.

This review is not my best, but do not judge me, for I do not care.

Leave a Reply

