Review: ‘Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda’ by Becky Albertalli

I’d heard good things about this book before I started it, so I was looking forward to it, hoping that I wouldn’t be disappointed. And I wasn’t.

The story focuses on Simon, a high school boy who is secretly gay and having an online relationship with a guy he knows only through emails – no name, no picture, nothing. When a fellow student happens upon these emails, he takes photos of them and uses them to blackmail Simon. This leads to many different things, including relationships being tested, the mysterious ‘Blue’ from the emails (eventually) being revealed, and a Coming Out Thing.

I was hooked and finished this book in no time. We get to follow Simon and his journey/struggle with who he is and who he wants people to see him as. As a member of the LGBTQ+ community myself, I really connected with Simon this struggle, not to mention Blue and Martin as well.

Personally, I think everyone should read this book, not just because it’s well-written, but also because I think it would give people a better – if not more thorough – understanding of what it is like to be someone who isn’t simply straight and who is afraid to tell those around him/her. We see the good and the bad outcomes of the Coming Out Thing, but that’s real life. And real life isn’t easy.

Leave a Reply

