Review: ‘The Most Beautiful: My Life with Prince’ by Mayte Garcia

Oh, my God.

Where to begin? Let me start with this: I love Prince. I have loved him for as long as I can remember. Though I’m only the ripe old age of 23, Prince’s music has been a part of my life for years. Unfortunately, I never got to experience either meeting him in person or seeing him perform live. But I still feel like I shared this connection with him, which might sound weird or totally cliché, but it’s true. Another unfortunate fact, Prince died the day before my birthday, which was really just a terrible birthday present, but every birthday will be spent thinking of him, at least. ❤

Anyway, on to the review.

This is sort of like a memoir within a memoir. The book isn’t just about Prince and it isn’t just about Mayte. It’s about their lives, intertwined. The writing is great, brutal, honest, naked. I laughed and I cried – multiple times.

As much as Prince was put on a pedestal for most of his life by most of the people around him, Mayte and her story remind us that he was simply human, just like the rest of us. He had his demons. He was a man. A lover. A husband. A father. A legend.

If you are a fan of Prince and/or Mayte Garcia, I highly recommend giving this a read. You won’t regret it! Also, it features a few pages of photographs, some of Prince and Mayte, others of only Mayte, and even a couple of Mayte and her daughter.

Rest in Peace, Prince Rogers Nelson (June 7, 1958 – April 21, 2016)

Leave a Reply

