Review: ‘Caraval’ by Stephanie Garber

!!! SPOILERS BELOW !!!

For about the first half of the book, I was in love. The plot is definitely original and the story pulls you in almost immediately. The writing is decent. However, once I reached a certain point, I realized some issues I had with it.

First, the insta-love. I hate it. I got so caught up in the story that I almost missed it, which I guess could be considered a good thing. But once I noticed the fact that these two characters fell in love after only knowing one another for about a week, it was all I could think about. Every kiss or romantic look or batting of the lashes just pissed me off.

Second, two of the main characters died, and I felt basically nothing. Which I think says something about the depth of the characters.

Third, it was just so predictable! Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’m just too good. Either way, being able to predict what happens ruins it for me. I want to be surprised! I want to be shocked! But no. Sadly, I predicted every twist in this book, even the big “reveal” about Julian at the end.

Fourth, Scarlett is a hypocrite. The only instance I can think of off the top of my head is near the end, but it’s bugged me since I read it. Telling Tella that she can’t be in love with Daniel DeEngl because they barely know each other, yet she’s over here “in love” with Julian, whom she’s known about an equal amount of time. Okay, Scarlett. Whatever you say.

Truthfully, I enjoyed the book. It was different and Stephanie Garber does a good job of keeping you interested. Perhaps the twists and turns work in her favor for most people, but for me, it was all just too predictable.

Leave a Reply

